Cannot remove obsolete contact(s) #168

Open
opened 3 weeks ago by tutrys61 · 1 comments
tutrys61 commented 3 weeks ago

How to erase (remove) obsolete contact(s)?

How to erase (remove) obsolete contact(s)?
Owner

Copying my reply to a similar question from Cwtch Release Candidates Testers:

Right now there is no way to completly delete a contact (that is exposed in the UI)

The problem with deleting contacts was that if they were mutual contact then as soon as the contact came online again they would attempt to connect with you and trigger a fresh contact-request. This basically made it impossible to remove a conversation in an expected way.

So for now you can "Archive" a conversation which will push it down to the bottom of the list until someone in the conversation sends a new message. 

Alternatively you can "Block" a contact which will remove their ability to contact you ,and also push the conversation down to the bottom.

In future releases we plan to re-allow full removal of a conversation, once we have though through the UI around contact requests/archive/block/delete.

(The above only applies to individual contacts. Deleting groups by "leaving" the conversation still works, since that does actually purge the group key) 

Copying my reply to a similar question from Cwtch Release Candidates Testers: Right now there is no way to completly delete a contact (that is exposed in the UI) The problem with deleting contacts was that if they were mutual contact then as soon as the contact came online again they would attempt to connect with you and trigger a fresh contact-request. This basically made it impossible to remove a conversation in an expected way. So for now you can "Archive" a conversation which will push it down to the bottom of the list until someone in the conversation sends a new message.  Alternatively you can "Block" a contact which will remove their ability to contact you ,and also push the conversation down to the bottom. In future releases we plan to re-allow full removal of a conversation, once we have though through the UI around contact requests/archive/block/delete. (The above only applies to individual contacts. Deleting groups by "leaving" the conversation still works, since that does actually purge the group key) 
sarah added the
question
label 3 weeks ago
Sign in to join this conversation.
No Milestone
No project
No Assignees
2 Participants
Notifications
Due Date

No due date set.

Dependencies

This issue currently doesn't have any dependencies.

Loading…
There is no content yet.